Tartu MTB Marathon is going to be intriguing Estonian-Latvian duel


Photo of last year's winner Gert Jõeäär. Photo author: Ardo Säks.

This Sunday, on September 20th, the 23rd Tartu MTB Marathon will take place. The best riders from previous years are expected to come and president Kersti Kaljulaid will also participate in 89 km distance.

Last year’s top three winners are on the starting line: Gert Jõeäär (winner), Peeter Pruus (2nd place) and Josten Vaidem (3rd place). In addition there are Caspar Austa and Martin Loo – two very strong MTB riders. With MTB riders there are very strong road cyclists – Alo Jakin, Gert Kivistik and young rider Madis Mihkels. Strong competition with Estonians is predicted from Latvian Andzs Flaksis, who is two time winner of Tartu MTB Marathon. He promised to come, even though Latvians have to stay in quarantine after visiting Estonia.

Among women there are also very strong riders: Janelle Uibokand (last year’s winner) and Greete Steinburg, who has won the Tartu MTB Marathon twice before. There is also a strong Estonian-Latvian battle. The two time winners of the Tartu MTB Marathon Lelde Ardava and Katrina Jaunslaviete-Kipure will also compete for the podium places. Unfortunately two strongest Estonian MTB riders, Janika Lõiv and Mari-Liis Mõttus can’t participate, because they are training for MTB World Championships.

President Kersti Kaljulaid is also on the starting list and she has chosen 89 kilometers for the race.

The day before the main races, on September 19th, children's races will take place in Tartu Tähtvere Sports Park. You can choose between a morning and evening shift or a virtual ride (virtual option is available until September 20th). Registration for the children's race takes place only in a self-service environment and the participation fee is 3 euros. You can’t register to children’s races in Tähtvere Sports Park this year!

The 23rd Tartu MTB Marathon is also supported by the funds of the European Regional Development Fund.