Tartu Rattamaraton

Mountain bikes were invented by Americans already in the beginning of the eighties, but in Estonia the first bikes appeared only at the end of the nineties. The new type of bikes were well accepted but there was no suitable popular races.

In 1998 the time seemed to be right and taking an example from the famous Norvegian race Birkebeiner-rittet, the first Tartu Rattamaraton was organized. The race follows the course of Tartu (ski)Maraton. For the first years the distances were 63 and 31, just like in cross-country skirace Tartu Maraton. When the first Tartu Rattamaraton started on asphalt, soon the start was taken to a meadow. The aim of the race is to be suitable for every healthy person. The first and the biggest change in the history of Tartu Rattamaraton was done in the fall of 2006, when the distances grew to 87 and 40 km. The change was brought alive because of the grown quality of bikes, skills and training among the participants.

Before the first Tartu Rattamaraton many specialists were rather pessimistic about the success of this kind of a race. But despite that, already the first edition had over 1000 participants. Fast growth within the next years helped Tartu Rattamaraton to reach the level of Tartu Maraton (already 5213 paricipants in 2008) and despite a lot of compiting races in Estonia, none of them has reached such high numbers. As Latvia and Lithuania did not had similar races for a long time, the number of participants from those two countries grow annually.

Since 2002, Tartu Rattamaraton has belonged to the UCI calendar. That makes the race an international sport event. In 2009, exept of the traditional Estonian Championships, the European Champions in MTB Marathon were cleared up.

In 2017 a new distance of 21 km was added to the program.


year distance winner country time ladies' winner (overall rank) country time
1998 63 km Alges Maasikmets EST 1:56.37 Riina Toomis (138) EST 2:23.07
1999 63 km Andrus Aug EST 1:55.42 Grete Pedmanson (Treier) (109) EST 2:13.55
2000 63 km Alges Maasikmets EST 1:52.25 Riina Toomis (132) EST 2:05.46
2001 63 km Alges Maasikmets EST 1:54.55 Grete Pedmanson (Treier) (100) EST 2:09.47
2002 63 km Sigvard Kukk EST 1:52.13 Grete Pedmanson (Treier) (50) EST 2:03.11
2003 63 km Aleksejs Saramotins LAT 1:50.57 Grete Treier (72) EST 1:56.44
2004 63 km Caspar Austa EST 1:48.13 Grete Treier (49) EST 1:56.40
2005 63 km Aleksejs Saramotins LAT 1:49.13 Grete Treier (62) EST 1:55.37
2006 87 km Jaan Kirsipuu EST 2:41.25 Gunn-Rita Dahle-Flesja (33) NOR 2:46.47
2007 87 km Jaan Kirsipuu EST 2:50.56 Laura Lepasalu (125) EST 3:16.49
2008 89 km Jaan Kirsipuu EST 2:42.49 Ivanda Eiduka (113) LAT 3:03.55
2009 89 km Allan Oras EST 2:34.53 Gunn-Rita Dahle-Flesja  (83) NOR 2:51.38
2010 89 km Tanel Kangert EST 2:50.44 Ivanda Eiduka (174) LAT 3:35.30
2011 89 km Tanel Kangert EST 2:30.47 Maaris Meier (117) EST 2:52.58
2012 89 km Erki Pütsep EST 2:38.54 Lelde Ardava (119) LAT 3:04.16
2013 89 km Erki Pütsep EST 2:32.26 Dana Rozlapa (104) LAT 2:49.21
2014 89 km Andzs Flaksis LAT 2:29.11 Janelle Uibokand (220) EST 2:54.20
2015 89 km Peeter Tarvis EST 2:34.25 Liisa Ehrberg (127) EST 2:49.10
2016 89 km Andzs Flaksis LAT 2:35:33 Lelde Ardava (107) LAT 2:50:29